Angel in the Dark (The Dollhouse Society) by Jay Ellison

The red-hot conclusion of the “Daniel” stories is here!

Angel in the DarkTitle: ANGEL IN THE DARK (THE DOLLHOUSE SOCIETY)

Author: Jay Ellison

Discover the secret behind the mysterious Dollhouse Society…

Discovering his infidelity, Mr. Karenina fires Daniel as his courtier. But fate, and an unfortunate accident, conspire to draw them back together. But can a man who has learned not to love and a man who has yet to encounter true love find common ground? And can two people caught up in betrayal learn to trust each other again?

Excerpt:

Finally, Mr. Karenina turned to look at me. His face, and his eyes behind his dark glasses, were unreadable. “You agreed to cut any romantic ties you have with anyone else when you decided to became my courtier,” he said. “You agreed to obey me, Daniel. You know the rules, yet it’s painfully obvious you have no real desire to please your gentleman.”

“But that isn’t fair!” I suddenly cried. “You can’t expect me to be alone for the rest of my life just to please you!”

He stared at me long and hard. And when he finally spoke, his voice was a low, insinuating hiss. “And how, exactly, are you alone, Daniel?”

“How, exactly, are we together?” I retorted. I knew it was wrong to break the rules, but I also knew he had no right to make such demands on my life. “I’m your courtier, but do you love me?” I asked him. “Or am I just a hole to fuck whenever you feel the itch?”

He watched me in stoic silence, not even blinking in response to my question.

I swallowed against the knot of tears in my throat. Sheri had been right all along about him. I should have been more careful. “If you don’t love me, then you’re my employer, not my boyfriend, not my lover, and you have no right to dictate to me how to live my life.”

The silence ticked away between us, and Mr. Karenina stared down sightlessly at the floor. “You said you loved me,” he said after some time.

I felt a surge of anger. I wanted to hurt him as much as he was hurting me. “You paid me to say that.” Yet the moment the words were out of my mouth I regretted them.

Available from:

AMAZON US

AMAZON UK

NOOKBOOK

SMASHWORDS

Leave a Reply

